Equal Medicine Organization
US Dispensary
florida state map Marijuana Cannabis Cultivation Rx Laws Regulation Attorney Lawyers Congress

Florida Marijuana Law, Regulation, Penalties, Attornies & Congressman

Offense Penalty Incarceration   Max. Fine  

Possession

20 grams or less Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,000
More than 20 grams – 25 lbs Felony 5 years $ 5,000
More than 25 – less than 2000 lbs Felony 3* – 15 years $ 25,000
2000 – less than 10,000 lbs Felony 7* – 30 years $ 50,000
10,000 lbs or more Felony 15* – 30 years $ 200,000
Less than 25 plants Felony 5 years $ 5,000
25 – 300 plants Felony 15 years $ 10,000
300 – 2,000 plants Felony 3* – 15 years $ 25,000
2000 – 10,000 plants Felony 7* – 30 years $ 50,000
Within 1000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified areas Felony 15 years $ 10,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Sale

20 grams or less without remuneration Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,000
25 lbs or less Felony 5 years $ 5,000
More than 25 – less than 2000 lbs (or 300 – 2,000 plants) Felony 3* – 15 years $ 25,000
2000 – less than 10,000 lbs (or 2000 – 10,000 plants) Felony 7* – 30 years $ 50,000
10,000 lbs or more Felony 15* – 30 years $ 200,000
Within 1000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified areas Felony 15 years $ 10,000
* Mandatory minimum sentence

Hash & Concentrates

Possession of hashish or concentrates Felony 5 years $ 5,000
Selling, manufacturing or delivering Felony 5 years $ 5,000

Paraphernalia

Possession of paraphernalia Misdemeanor 1 year $ 1,000

Miscellaneous

Conviction causes a driver’s license suspension for a period of 1 year

Penalty Details

Possession

Possession of 20 grams or less of cannabis is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1 year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Possession of more than 20 grams of cannabis is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Any person who is knowingly in active or constructive possession of 25 pounds or less of cannabis is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

Any person who is knowingly in active or constructive possession of more than 25 pounds – 2,000 pounds of cannabis (or 300-2,000 plants) is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000.

Any person who is knowingly in active or constructive possession of 2,000 pounds – less than 10,000 pounds of cannabis (or 2,000-10,000 plants) is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 7 years and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $50,000.

Any person who is knowingly in active or constructive possession of 10,000 pounds of cannabis or more is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $200,000.

Sale or delivery within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified areas is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13(h)(3)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.03)(1)(c)(7)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.135 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(a)

Sale/Delivery

The delivery of 20 grams or less without remuneration is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of 1-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
The sale of 25 pounds or less of cannabis is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.
The sale of more than 25 pounds- less than 2,000 pounds of cannabis (or 300-2,000 plants) is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 3 years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000.

The sale of 2,000 pounds – less than 10,000 pounds of cannabis (or 2,000-10,000 plants) is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 7 years and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $50,000.

The sale of 10,000 pounds or more of cannabis is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $200,000.

Sale or delivery of cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified areas is a felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.03(c)(35)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.135
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(a)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.083(1)

Hash & Concentrates

Hashish or concentrates are considered schedule I narcotics in Florida.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.03(1)(c)

Possession of hashish or concentrates is a felony in the third degree. A felony of the third degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment no greater than 5 years and a fine no greater than $5,000.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13(6)(b) 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.083(1)(c), (d) 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(3)(d)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(4)(a) 

Possessing more than 3 grams of hash, selling, manufacturing, delivering, or possessing with intent to sell, manufacture or deliver, hashish or concentrates is a felony of the third degree. A felony of the third degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment no greater than 5 years and a fine no greater than $5,000.

The offense is charged as a felony of the second degree if the offense occurred:

 

  • Within 1,000 feet of a child care facility between 6 A.M. and 12 midnight;
  • Within 1,000 feet of a park or community center;
  • Within 1,000 feet of a college, university or other postsecondary educational institute;
  • Within 1,000 feet of any church or place of worship that conducts religious activities;
  • Within 1,000 feet of any convenience business;
  • Within 1,000 feet of public housing;
  • Within 1,000 feet or an assisted living facility.

A felony of the second degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment no greater than 15 years and a fine no greater than $10,000.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13(1)(a)(2) 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.083(1)(b), (c) 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(3)(c), (d)
  • Rutherford v. State, 386 So.2d 881 (Fla. 1980)

Florida defines any product, equipment, or device used to make hashish or concentrates as drug paraphernalia.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.145

Paraphernalia

Possession of drug paraphernalia is a misdemeanor in the first degree, punishable by a maximum sentence of one 1-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.083 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.145
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.145 
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.147 

Miscellaneous

Conviction causes a driver’s license suspension for a period of 1 year.

See

  • Florida Criminal Code § 322.055
  • Florida Criminal Code § 322.056
DRUGGED DRIVING

This state has a per se drugged driving law enacted. In their strictest form, these laws forbid drivers from operating a motor vehicle if they have a detectable level of an illicit drug or drug metabolite (i.e., compounds produced from chemical changes of a drug in the body, but not necessarily psychoactive themselves) present in their bodily fluids above a specific, state-imposed threshold. 

HEMP

This state has an active hemp industry or has authorized research. Hemp is a distinct variety of the plant species cannabis sativa L. that contains minimal (less than 1%) amounts of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the primary psychoactive ingredient in marijuana. Various parts of the plant can be utilized in the making of textiles, paper, paints, clothing, plastics, cosmetics, foodstuffs, insulation, animal feed, and other products. 

MANDATORY MINIMUM SENTENCE

When someone is convicted of an offense punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence, the judge must sentence the defendant to the mandatory minimum sentence or to a higher sentence. The judge has no power to sentence the defendant to less time than the mandatory minimum. A prisoner serving an MMS for a federal offense and for most state offenses will not be eligible for parole. Even peaceful marijuana smokers sentenced to “life MMS” must serve a life sentence with no chance of parole.

MEDICAL MARIJUANA

This state has medical marijuana laws enacted. Modern research suggests that cannabis is a valuable aid in the treatment of a wide range of clinical applications. These include pain relief, nausea, spasticity, glaucoma, and movement disorders. Marijuana is also a powerful appetite stimulant and emerging research suggests that marijuana’s medicinal properties may protect the body against some types of malignant tumors, and are neuroprotective. For more information see: Medical Use.

MEDICAL CBD

This state has passed a medical CBD law allowing for the use of cannabis extracts that are high in CBD and low in THC in instances where a physician has recommended such treatment to a patient with a state-qualifying condition.

Florida Drugged Driving

In Florida, a person is guilty of a DUI if he or she is driving under the influence of any controlled substance to the extent that the person’s normal facilities are impaired. Fla. Stat. Ann. § 316.293 (1)(a) (West 2010). Such normal facilities include, but are not limited to, the ability to see, hear, walk, talk, judge distances, drive an automobile, make judgments, act in emergencies, and in general, normally perform the many mental and physical activities of daily life. Id. § 316.1934 (1).

Implied Consent

  • Any person operating a motor vehicle within Florida is deemed to have given his or her consent to submit to a urine and/or blood test for the purpose of detecting the presence of chemical and controlled substances. Id. § 316.1932 (1).
  • Refusal to submit to testing is a first-degree misdemeanor and can be punished with up to one year in jail. Id. § 775.082(4)(a).
  • Operating privileges suspended for a period of 1 year or, in the case of a second or subsequent refusal, for a period of 18 months. Id. § 316.1939(1).
  • If the death or serious bodily injury results, a chemical test is required, and an officer may use reasonable force if necessary to obtain a blood sample if the driver refuses. Id. § 316.1933 (1)(a).
  • The results of any of these tests shall be admissible as evidence in a criminal prosecution, except for the prosecution for possession of a controlled substance. Id. § 316.1932 (1)(a)(1)(b); Id. § 316.1932 (1)(a)(1)(b), (c).
  • The driver may request a formal or informal review of the suspension by the department within 10 days of after the date of the suspension. Id. § 316. 2615 (1)(b)(3).

Penalties

  • First offense – fine of $500 to $1,000; jail for up to 6 months; license suspension of 180 days to 1 year; 50 hours community service (or possible buyout at $10/hour); 10 day vehicle impoundment/immobilization. Id. § 316.193(2)(a).
  • Second offense – fine of $1,000 to $2,000; jail for up to 9 months; mandatory ignition interlock; license suspension of 180 days up to 1 year; mandatory 1 year probation; psychosocial evaluation required; 50 hours of community service (or possible buyout at $10/hour); 10 day vehicle impoundment/immobilization. Id. § 316.193(3).
  • Third offense – Fine of $2,000 to $5,000; jail up to 12 months; mandatory ignition interlock; license suspension of 1 year; mandatory 1 year probation; psychosocial evaluation required; 50 hours community service (or possible buyout at $10/hour); and 90 day vehicle impoundment/immobilization. Id. § 316.193(3)(b)(2).
  • Third offense (w/i 10 years of second) felony – minimum fine of $2,000, up to $5,000; jail for a period of 30 days to 5 years; mandatory ignition interlock; 10 year mandatory license suspension; mandatory 1 year probation; psychosocial evaluation; 50 hours community service (or possible buyout at $10/hour); and 90 day vehicle impoundment/immobilization. Id. § 316.193(3)(b)(1).
  • Fourth offense 3rd degree felony – penalties of up to $5,000 in fines; 5 years in prison, as well as penalties imposed for third offense. Id. § 316.193.

Other Penalties & Penalty Enhancers

  • DUI which causes damage to the property or person of another commits a misdemeanor of the first degree. Id. 193(3)(c)(1).
  • DUI which causes serious bodily injury to another is a felony of the third degree. Id. § 316.193(3)(c)(2).
  • DUI which causes the death of any human being or unborn quick child is a second degree felony. Id. § 316.193(3)(c)(3).

Sobriety Checkpoints

Florida allows law enforcement officials to conduct roadblocks under the Federal Constitution.

  • Warrantless temporary roadblock established to find persons driving under the influence, which randomly stops automobiles, can produce constitutionally permissible arrests. State v. Jones, 483 So. 2d 433 (1986).
  • A checkpoint is deficient under Jones if it lacks written guidelines, especially with regard to the method for choosing which vehicles are to be stopped. Campbell v. State, 679 So.2d 1168 (1996)
  • A delay of less than five minutes per driver was found to be permissible. Cahill v. State, 595 So.2d 258 (Fla. App. 4 Dist. 1992).

Case Law

Shaw v. State, 783 So.2d 1097 (2001) — In prosecution for driving under the influence (DUI), state was required to prove that defendant’s faculties were “impaired,” rather than merely “weakened.”

Sabree v. State, 978 So.2d 840 (2008) — Simply having a drug in the system is legally insufficient to convict defendant of driving while intoxicated (DUI) manslaughter and DUI serious bodily injury, because the state is required to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that defendant was “under the influence” of cocaine.

State v. Tagner, 673 So.2d 57 (1996) – Necessary elements of driving under the influence include actual physical control of vehicle, that defendant was under influence of a controlled substance, and that defendant was affected to extent that his normal faculties were impaired.

State v. Sercey, 825 So.2d 959 (2002) – Prosecution may prove impairment by a controlled substance by using evidence of the presence of the controlled substance in the defendant’s body and/or other evidence of impairment, including erratic driving and the fact that an accident occurred.

Florida Hemp Law

Year Passed: 2017

Summary: SB 1726 was enacted on June 16, 2017 and directs the Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services to authorize and oversee the development of industrial hemp pilot projects at certain universities. Commercialization projects may be allowed after two years with certain conditions. Authorizes the universities to develop pilot projects in partnership with public, nonprofit, and private entities. Requires a university to submit a report within two years of establishing a pilot program.

Florida CBD-Specific Marijuana Law

Status

 

CBD Specific

Law Signed:

 2014

QUALIFYING CONDITIONS

  • Cancer
  • Muscle spasms
  • Seizures
  • Terminal illness (patients diagnosed with no more than 12-months to live)

PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS

State-qualified patients, except in cases where those are diagnosed with a terminal illness, may possess cannabis strains containing ten percent or more of CBD and no more than eight-tenths of one percent of THC. Terminally ill patients may possess strains higher in THC, but these strains must be obtained from a state-licensed producer/dispensary.

HOME CULTIVATION

No

STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES

Yes, up to five facilities to dispense high-CBD strains to state-qualified patients.

STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES OPERATIONAL

Yes, home delivery from state-licensed dispensaries is also permitted.

CAREGIVERS

No

ESTIMATED NUMBER OF REGISTERED PATIENTS

RECIPROCITY

No

CONTACT INFORMATION

Florida Verified Attorney / Lawyers

Greg McNeill Lauer

954-533-4498

Greg McNeill Lauer

Lauer & Currie, P.A.
644 SE 5 Avenue

Fort LauderdaleFL33301

www.law-lc.com

Phone: 954-533-4498

Norm Kent

954-763-1900

Norman Elliot Kent

Criminal Defense Law Center of South Florida
12 Southeast 7th Street Suite 709

Fort LauderdaleFL 33301

www.normkent.com

Phone: 954-763-1900

Leland Eric Garvin

239-277-0005

Leland Eric Garvin

Garvin Law Firm
4280 Cleveland Avenue

Fort MyersFL 33901

www.garvinlegal.com

Phone: 239-277-0005

Scott Thomas Moorey

239-275-5552

Scott Thomas Moorey

 
1430 Royal Palm Square Blvd

Fort MyersFL 33919

www.goodpeopledogetarrested.com

Phone: 239-275-5552

Tim Michael Flaherty

850-243-6097

Tim Michael Flaherty

Flaherty Defense Firm
1817 Lewis Turner Blvd

Fort Walton BeachFL 32547

www.flahertydefensefirm.com

Phone: 850-243-6097

John H. Trevena

727-581-5813

Johnnie Harry Trevena

Trevena, Pontrello & Associates
801 West Bay Dr Suite 509

LargoFL 33770

www.trevena.com

Phone: 727-581-5813
 
 
 
 
 

Richard Hornsby

407-540-1551

Richard Earl Hornsby

Richard E. Hornsby, P.A.
1217 E Robinson St

OrlandoFL 32803

www.richardhornsby.com

Phone: 407-540-1551
 
 
 

Michael C Minardi

813-995-8227

Michael C Minardi

Michael Minardi, P.A.
11402 Bloomingdale Ave.

RiverviewFL 33578

www.minardilaw.com

Phone: 813-995-8227

 

 
 
 
 
 

Jason Daniel Sammis

813-250-0500

Jason Daniel Sammis

Sammis Law Firm, P.A.
1005 N Marion St

TampaFL 33602

www.criminaldefenseattorneytampa.com

Phone: 813-250-0500
 
 
 
 

Roger P Foley

561-746-7076

Roger P Foley

Law Office of Roger P. Foley, P.A.
901 North Olive Ave

West palm Beach FL 33401

www.provemyinnocence.com

Phone: 561-746-7076
 
 

Warren Redlich

888-733-5299

Warren Redlich

 
12345 Riverfalls Ct

Boca RatonFL 33428

duipb.com

Phone: 888-733-5299
 
 

Kevin J Pitts

386-451-5112

Kevin Jeffrey Pitts

The Law Offices Of Kevin J. Pitts
747 S Ridgewood Ave

Daytona BeachFL 32114

myduiflorida.com

Phone: 386-451-5112
 
 
 

Daniel J. Endrizal III, P

239-728-8555

Daniel J. Endrizal

 
P.O. box 1876

Ft. MyersFL 33902

Phone: 239-728-8555
 
 
 
 

Scott T. Schmidt

352-372-4263

Scott Schmidt

Turner O’Connor Kozlowski
102 N.W. Second Ave

GainesvilleFL 32601

www.turnerlawpartners.com

Phone: 352-372-4263
 
 
 
 

Shannon Schott

904-619-5244

Shannon Schott

Plata Schott Attorneys & Counselors at Law
135 W. Adams Street

JacksonvilleFL 32202

www.plataschott.com

Phone: 904-619-5244
 
 
 

James O. Davis Jr.

904-358-0420

James O. Davis

Law Office of James Davis, P.A.
300 W Adams St Suite 550

JacksonvilleFL 32202

jamesdavisdefense.com

Phone: 904-358-0420
 
 
 

Don Waggoner

407-846-8008

Don Waggoner

Don Waggoner Law, P.A.
1013 Verona St

KissimmeeFL 34741

www.donwaggonerlaw.com

Phone: 407-846-8008
 
 
 
 
 

Mark Saul Germain

321-253-3447

Mark Saul Germain

Law Offices of Germain & McCarthy, LLC
2715 N Harbor City Blvd #4

MelbourneFL 32935

www.criminalattorneymelbournefl.com

Phone: 321-253-3447
 
 
 
 

Ernest L Chang

321-255-6300

Ernest L Chang

Ernest L. Chang, P.A.
6767 N Wickham Rd Suite 400

MelbourneFL 32940

www.brevardlawfirm.com

Phone: 321-255-6300
 
 
 
 

Percy Martinez

305-529-0001

Percy Martinez

Percy Martinez Law Office
2655 Le Jeune Road #504

MiamiFL 33134

percymartinezlaw.com

Phone: 305-529-0001
 
 
 
 

Chad Piotrowski

305-204-5000

Chad Piotrowski

Law Office of Chad Piotrowski, Esq.
100 Biscayne Boulevard Suite 2301

MiamiFL 33132

cplaw-miami.com

Phone: 305-204-5000
 
 
 
 

Julian Stroleny

305-615-1285

Julian Stroleny

Pagan & Stroleny, P.L. – Miami Criminal Defense Lawyer
1 NE 2nd Ave #200

MiamiFL 33132

www.pslaw.org

Phone: 305-615-1285

 

 
 
 
 
 

Jeffrey Gitto

813-453-1794

Jeffrey Gitto

Vanguard Legal PLLC
116 S. Orange Ave

OrlandoFL 32801

www.vanguardpllc.com

Phone: 813-453-1794
 
 

Trakina Lucien Graham

407-802-2968

Trakina Lucien Graham

Graham Law Group, LLC
3008 E. Robinson Street

OrlandoFL 32803

FloridaMedicalMarijuanaBusinessAttorneys.com

Phone: 407-802-2968
 
 
 
 

Roger Scott Jr.

407-894-0052

Roger Scott

Scott & Medling, P.A.
1515 E Livingston St

OrlandoFL 32803

www.orlandodruglawyer.com

Phone: 407-894-0052
 
 
 
 
 

Lisa Ann Anderson

850-215-2529

Lisa Ann Anderson

 
460 Harrison Ave

Panama CityFL 32402

www.lisaandersonlaw.com

Phone: 850-215-2529
 
 
 
 

Shelley Guy Reynolds

850-434-1330

Shelley Guy Reynolds

Law Office of Shelley Guy Reynolds, PA
3 West Garden St Suite 407

PensacolaFL 32502

www.shelleyreynolds.com

Phone: 850-434-1330
 
 

John A. Terrezza

850-764-5291

John A. Terrezza

Terrezza Law
309 West Gregory St

PensacolaFL 32502

www.defenseattorneyfl.com

Phone: 850-764-5291
 
 
 
 
 

Jonathan J. Luca

904-814-8943

Jonathan J. Luca

Luca Law Firm, P.A.
904 Anastasia Blvd

Saint AugustineFL 32080

marijuanalawyerjax.com

Phone: 904-814-8943
 
 
 
 
 

Erika Snell Valcarcel

941-363-7900

Erika Snell Valcarcel

Valcarcel Law
2170 Main Street Suite 204

SarasotaFL 34237

www.valcarcellaw.com

Phone: 941-363-7900
 
 
 
 

Melinda Morris

727-388-4736

Melinda A Morris

Morris Law Firm, P.A.
111 2nd Ave NE #515

St PetersburgFL 33701

www.criminalattorneystpetersburg.com

Phone: 727-388-4736
 
 
 
 
 

Christian Matthew Denmon

727-493-5610

Christian Matthew Denmon

Denmon Pearlman
520 2nd Ave South

St. PetersburgFL 33701

denmon.lawyer

Phone: 727-493-5610
 
 
 

Collin Cherry

850-224-1100

Arthur Collin Cherry

Law Office of Collin Cherry, P.L.
1114 East Park Ave

TallahasseeFL 32301

www.cherrylaw.us

Phone: 850-224-1100
 
 
 

Donald A Pumphrey Jr.

850-681-7777

Donald A Pumphrey

Pumphrey Law
553 E Tennessee St

TallahasseeFL 32308

www.pumphreylawfirm.com

Phone: 850-681-7777
 
 

Leslie M. Sammis

813-250-0500

Leslie Miller Sammis

Sammis Law Firm, P.A.
1005 N Marion St

TampaFL 33602

www.tampaflduilawyer.com

Phone: 813-250-0500
 
 
 

Cary Anderson High

561-420-0656

Cary Anderson High

The High Law Firm, P.A.
12230 Forest Hill Boulevard

WellingtonFL 33414

www.high-law.com

Phone: 561-420-0656 
 
 
 
 

Donald Alan Lykkebak

407-425-4044

Donald Alan Lykkebak

 
250 S. Park Ave. Suite 200

Winter ParkFL 32789

www.donaldlykkebak.com

Phone: 407-425-4044