Possession for Personal Use
Possession of less than one-half ounce of marijuana by a first time offender carries a civil penalty of $150.
Possession of less than one-half ounce for subsequent offenses carries a penalty of a civil fine between $200 and $500.
Possession of more than one-half ounce of marijuana can be punished with a prison term not to exceed one years and a fine not to exceed $2000.
For a second offense, the court must make an evaluation and if the court decides the person is drug dependent may suspend prosecution and order the person to complete a drug abuse treatment program.
For a subsequent offense, the court may sentence the person as a persistent offender for possession of a controlled substance under 53a-40.
Possession within 1,500 feet of a school or daycare center will receive a term of imprisonment and term of probation with a community service requirement.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-279a
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-279
Distribution or Cultivation
Distribution or cultivation includes possession with intent to distribute or cultivate marijuana.
For first offenders distribution or cultivation of less than 1 kilogram of marijuana is punishable by a fine of up to $25,000 and/or up to 7 years of imprisonment. Subsequent offenses are punishable by a fine of up to $100,000 and/or up to 15 years of imprisonment.
The court may prescribe an alternative sentence of up to 3 years imprisonment. The offender may then be released at any time during those 3 years and placed on probation for the remainder of their term.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-277(b)
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-277(d)
For first offenders distribution or cultivation of 1 kilogram or more of marijuana is punishable by 5-20 years of imprisonment. Subsequent offenses are punishable by up 10-25 years of imprisonment. The court cannot reduce a sentence below the minimum years of prison time required by the statute, this means that first offenders face a minimum of 5 years imprisonment and subsequent offenders a minimum of 10 years imprisonment. The court may make exceptions to these mandatory minimum sentences if the defendant is under 18 or is/was mentally impaired.
For non-violent first offenders, the court may depart from the mandatory minimum sentence if a particular reason is stated.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-283(a)
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-278(b)
Distribution or cultivation of marijuana within 1,500 feet of an elementary/middle school, public housing project, or daycare center is punishable by an additional 3 years imprisonment on top of any other sentence imposed.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-278a
Distribution of marijuana by a person 18 years or older to a person under 18 is punishable by an additional 2 years imprisonment, on top of any other sentence imposed. There is an exception to this rule if the distributor is less than 2 years older than the minor.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-278a
Using a person under 18 years of age to assist in the sale of marijuana is punishable by 3 years imprisonment, on top of any other sentence already imposed.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-278a
Hash & Concentrates
The Connecticut statute uses the terms “Marijuana” and “Cannabis-type substance” to refer to plant Cannabis or any substance made from or with Cannabis, including hashish or concentrates. The terms are given the exact same definition in the statute. The term “Marijuana” is used to distinguish “Marijuana” from other hallucinogenic substances, whereas the term “Cannabis-type substance” is used to define penalties for possession of said substances. The penalties for all infractions involving hashish or marijuana concentrates are therefore the same as the penalties for all infractions involving plant marijuana.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. §21a-240(7), (29)
Possession of paraphernalia with the intent to use it to cultivate, distribute or inhale/ingest more than one-half ounce of marijuana is a class C misdemeanor and is punishable by up to 3 months imprisonment and a fine of up to $500.
Distributing paraphernalia or possessing it with the intent to distribute it is a class A misdemeanor, punishable by up to one year in prison and/or a $2,000 civil fine. In order to be guilty of this crime the defendant must know or should have known that the item would be used to cultivate, distribute, or inhale/ingest more than one-half ounce of marijuana.
Paraphernalia possession or distribution intended to manufacture or ingest less than one-half ounce of marijuana is a civil infraction, which will result in a fine of between $100-$300 (including administrative costs).
Distributing or possessing paraphernalia within 1,500 feet of an elementary/middle school is punishable by an additional 1 year of imprisonment.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. 21a-267
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. 53a-42
Any item used for the cultivation or distribution of marijuana is subject to forfeiture. This includes vehicles or aircraft that are used to transport marijuana for the purpose of distributing it.
- Connecticut Gen. Stat. 21a-246
Connecticut Hemp Law
Year Passed: 2014
Summary: House Bill 5476 calls on the three state agencies, the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Consumer Protection, and the Department of Economic and Community Development to evaluate the feasibility of legalizing the possession, production, and sale of industrial hemp “for the purpose of encouraging economic development and increasing the number of new businesses in this state.” Regulators must make recommendations to the General Assembly in regard to “establishing a licensing system for industrial hemp growers and sellers” by no later than January 1, 2015.
Separate legislation enacted in 2015, HB 5780 excludes hemp stalks, fiber, and seeds from the definition of marijuana.
Connecticut Medical Marijuana Law
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Cerebral Palsy
- Complex regional pain syndrome
- Crohn’s disease
- Cystic Fibrosis
- HIV or AIDS
- Intractable spasticity
- Irreversible Spinal Cord Injury with Objective Neurological Indication of Intractable Spasticity
- Multiple Sclerosis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Post-surgical back pain with a condition called chronic radiculopathy
- Post laminectomy syndrome
- Posttraumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
- Severe psoriasis and psoriatic arthritis
- Sickle cell disease
- Terminal Illness Requiring End-Of-Life Care
- Ulcerative colitis
- Uncontrolled Intractable Seizure Disorder
- Other medical conditions may be approved by the Department of Consumer Protection
PATIENT POSSESSION LIMITS
STATE-LICENSED DISPENSARIES OPERATIONAL
Yes, a qualifying patient shall have not more than one primary caregiver at any time.
ESTIMATED NUMBER OF REGISTERED PATIENTS
- Source: Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection
Additional information for Connecticut patients and physicians regarding Public Act 12-55, An Act Concerning the Palliative Use of Marijuana is available online from the state Department of Consumer Protection.
Connecticut Tax Stamps
|State Code||§ 12-651|
|Tax Rate||$3.50/gram if owner possesses 42.5 grams or more|
|Penalty for Nonpayment (Civil and Criminal )||200% of tax and up to $10k or 6 yrs prison or both|
|For more information, visit: http://www.ct.gov/drs/lib/drs/publications/pubsip/1999/ip99(20.1).pdf|
You must log in to post a comment.